Reviews



Excellent place to stay - Rating 5/5

I cannot fault anything at Gordons.Such a brilliant location for the gorge and amenities. Uber clean place with some special touches.Felt at home, highly recommended.Hosts fantastic. Thank you for having us. The Haslers.

Reviewer:Mrs Lisa Hasler | Sun 6th Aug 2017


Immaculate - Rating 5/5

This must be the most spotless place I have ever stayed. Friendly people and a good breakfast. Off-street parking also a big bonus. Well located for pubs and restaurants.

Reviewer:John Prideaux | Wed 26th Jul 2017


Delightful- Rating 5/5

The tasteful furnishing, spacious accommodation and thoughtful amenities give this B &B the sort of restful luxury that this weary cyclist really appreciates;there was even a heated pool. I particularly liked the secure place for my bicycle, making this an ideal stop over for cyclists and others making their way across the Mendips to or from the Somerset levels;the \'Strawberry line\' is just down the road, while Cheddar Gorge is on the doorstep. The people here run the place very thoughtfully and rather skillfully and seemed genuinely friendly.

Reviewer:Anthony Watkins | Wed 12th Jul 2017


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Absolutely fantastic stay Room immaculate, breakfast outstandingHad a swim in the pool,which was perfect after a long day.Would like to wish Rory and his family every success in their B and B .we will certainly be returning

Reviewer:Kevin chamberlain | Sat 1st Jul 2017


Gordons b&b Cheddar Somerset - Rating 5/5

We stayed at Gordons for 2 nights.I had the pleasure of spending my birthday there. Fantastic location for exploring Cheddar Gorge. Everything about Gordons is \'Top Notch\'.Excellent breakfast, very high standard of accomodation.Very friendly and helpful staff and a brilliant outdoor pool set in an immaculate garden.Would thoroughly recommend here.We intend to visit agaun.

Reviewer:Jayne Richer | Sun 4th Jun 2017


Gordons of Cheddar- Rating 5/5

We had a fantastic short break at Gordons, Rory is a wonderful host who will give you all of the information necessary to make the most of your vist to the Gorge,caves and village, as well as assisting You with the facilities at the Hotel. We definitely reccomend a break at Gordons.

Reviewer:David Daly | Wed 31st May 2017


Fabulous - Rating 5/5

Wonderful perfectly situated. Absolutely top class standards and wouldn\'t hesitate to book again.

Reviewer:Joy Boland | Fri 26th May 2017


Gordons Hotel Cheddar - Rating 5/5

Lovely hotel, lovely people really enjoyed our stay despite the wet weather. We go back anytime.

Reviewer:Brian Johnson | Thu 18th May 2017


Fabulous - Rating 5/5

Rory and his wife are a lovely couple, providing a wonderful breakfast and great info on the local area

Reviewer:Lex van der Pauw | Sun 30th Apr 2017


Great place to stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely friendly, helpful people, beautiful room, good breakfast.Good location right at the foot of Cheddar gorge, easy walk into to Cheddar village, convenient for buses to Wells and Weston.

Reviewer:Pamela Bellingham | Fri 28th Apr 2017


Outstanding- Rating 5/5

3 lovely days spent in this gorgeous B&B. Really friendly welcome and greeted by a lovely spacious fresh room including huge en suite. Nothing too much trouble and breakfast including choices fantastic. All made to order served piping hot. Fresh quality ingredients. Perfect location perfect hosts definitely be staying here again

Reviewer:Mr. Robert Weatherley-Day | Sat 22nd Apr 2017


Prime Location - Rating 5/5

We very much enjoyed our 3 night, (April 7 - 10th), stay in Cheddar, at Gordons Hotel. Our room was ready/available on our arrival. Very pleasant check in from Rory, one of the owners, he gave us numerous ideas of places to go/visit. Gordons has a fantastic location, near the Tea Rooms, Shops, Restaurants, a few minutes walk from the Caves &the impressive Gorge. Our room was spacious, bright Clean &airy. In the En Suite, we had the digitally controlled Rainfall Shower. Breakfasts were fantastic, a choice of cooked ingredients served by friendly staff, also included, cereals, fresh fruits &toast, etc.We will definetely be returning to Cheddar. Hopefully we\'ll be as lucky with the weather as we were during our stay, the scenery around is immaculate. Our choice of destination/accomodation will be Gordons Hotel.

Reviewer:Mr. Michael Dean | Mon 17th Apr 2017


Gordons Hotel, Cheddar - Rating 5/5

Lovely hotel, everywhere clean and well maintained. Proprietors friendly and very welcoming. Ideally situated in the centre of the village.We would certainly stay again and would strongly recommend to friends and family. Kath &Alan Mills and Sue Yeomans

Reviewer:Mr. Alan Mills | Mon 10th Apr 2017


Fabulous place - Rating 5/5

Very friendly owners and staff, fabulous breakfast, lovely surroundings and very comfortable and clean accommodation.

Reviewer:Amanda Wright | Mon 10th Apr 2017


VERY NICE TIME - Rating 5/5

GREAT LOCATION ROOM VERY CLEAN AND PLEASENT NICE POEPLE WHO RUN IT WOULD STAY AGAIN

Reviewer:damian barrass | Mon 10th Apr 2017


My stay at Gordons - Rating 5/5

Lovely place to stay. Room was spotless and had all the amenities i needed.Breakfast was amazing snd tasty.Hosts friendly and very helpful.Location perfect for walking roundcthe Gorge.

Reviewer:Helen mott | Sat 25th Mar 2017


Gordons - Rating 5/5

I enjoyed my stay with no qualifications. Courtesy and room and breakfastfirst class

Reviewer:Timothy Sedgley | Mon 20th Mar 2017


3 night stay at Gordons hotel - Rating 5/5

My husband and I have just spent three nights at this hotel to celebrate our wedding anniversary.The hotel is super.It is family run and so friendly.The rooms are lovely and the breakfast was very good.Thank you to Rory and Jola.looking forward to going back in the summer and sitting outside by the pool.

Reviewer:Mrs. Suzanne Lee | Tue 14th Mar 2017


Will stay again! - Rating 5/5

We liked the Gordons- very relaxed, extremely friendly, excellent value for money along with a car park!. All of this topped off by a very good breakfast.

Reviewer:Neil Austin | Mon 16th Jan 2017


Outstanding!!- Rating 5/5

Just wow!! Staying here for work, I was after a peaceful and relaxing night. I could not have asked for more from the owners they were so helpful and the breakfast in the morning was to die for!! The room was well decorated and cosy during the night. A great village with a pub directly opposite the hotel. I will definitely be back again...

Reviewer:Aaron Frogley | Thu 12th Jan 2017


GREAT GORDONS ! - Rating 5/5

We stayed 2 nights at this charming Hotel and were delighted with both the accommodation , the friendly staff and the excellent service we received.The position of the Hotel is ideal,with onsite parking and a great pub very close for excellent beer and food in the evenings.We wouldrecommend it highly and will definitely stay here again .

Reviewer:Andrew Adamson | Tue 22nd Nov 2016


100 per cent - Rating 5/5

Dear Gordon\'s,Thank you for an excellent B &B experience. Very comfortable room and superb breakfasts.Much appreciated.

Reviewer:Colin Brash | Mon 21st Nov 2016


A top class hotel. - Rating 5/5

Excellent facilities and service. We have stayed at \"Gordons\"virtually every year for the last thirty years and it grows in our estimation year on year.

Reviewer:Mr. Barry Woolcott | Sun 20th Nov 2016


Gordons - Rating 5/5

Thank you \'Gordons\' for a very comfortable overnight stay and for being so welcoming.Everything was perfect, especially the breakfast.

Reviewer:Mr. Brian Atchison | Sun 13th Nov 2016


Very welcoming- Rating 5/5

2nd visit to Gordons! Lovely place to stay. Will be back again.

Reviewer:Miss. Georgina Croft | Tue 8th Nov 2016


Lovely hotel - Rating 5/5

Excellent stay at hotel.Rory &Jola vey nice couple who were very welcoming and friendly.Our room was no. 15 and was excellent.We had two windows one facing side of property and the other looking onto the road.Very spacious room. Clean and nice touch with tea/coffee and biscuits in room.Breakfast was excellent.Location very close to cheddar.Highly recommend

Reviewer:Fred Harvell | Tue 1st Nov 2016


Very nice great host - Rating 5/5

Very lovely hotel and great host highley recommend to anyone travelling near area and would definitely use again

Reviewer:Luke Webster | Mon 31st Oct 2016


Lovely break - Rating 5/5

Took my mum to Gordon\'s for her birthday after previously staying myself, a shower usual the owners were lovely and welcoming, helping us with our luggage.The room was lovely and clean and came with all the things to keep you comfortable, was a lovely surprise to go back to our room after a trip round the gauge to find a bottle of wine for a birthday treat. Breakfast was as usual fantastic with a range of choices and a supply of tea and toast was endless ! Visited the wishing well tea room which we could highly recommend if you like a nice homely feel and somewhere slogjtly vintage and with everything homemade. No doubt I\'ll be booking again in the near future.

Reviewer:Miss. Natasha Ross | Wed 26th Oct 2016


Weekend away - Rating 5/5

A very comfortable stay - would visit again

Reviewer:Mr. Neil Paulley | Mon 24th Oct 2016


Gordon\'s- greatest. - Rating 5/5

Gordon\'s was exceptional. From the time we checked in to the time we checked out, our experience was perfect. The room was pleasantly decorated, and the ensuite was amazing, with the most wonderful shower controller and screen. The breakfast was most suitable, and the staff we most pleasant and efficient. We would definitely stay again, and recommend without hesitation. Excellent.

Reviewer:Robert Edgerton | Wed 19th Oct 2016


Chadder stay - Rating 5/5

One of the most comfortable night\'s sleep we have had in a very long time. The room was nice and clean. I was very impressed with the breakfast. The staff and owners went out of there way to help us. Was able to check-in before 2pm

Reviewer:Mr. Mark Wood | Mon 17th Oct 2016


Perfect for an overnight stay - Rating 5/5

Making a long journey from the North to Cornwall, Cheddar was an obvious place to break our journey. I was fortunate enough to find accommodation at Gordons. Rooms were extremely clean and beds very comfortable. Excellent breakfast with something to suit all tastes. Nothing was too much trouble for the helpful and friendly staff.

Reviewer:Miss. Pauline Metcalfe | Sun 16th Oct 2016


Great find. - Rating 4/5

Everything spotlessly clean. Rory and Jola very helpful and friendly. Great breakfast and overall very good value.

Reviewer:Mr. Ian Watt | Thu 13th Oct 2016


Short Break - Rating 5/5

Had a relaxing short break at Gordons\', our only regret is that we didn\'t stay longer. Very friendly hosts, excellent breakfast, peaceful setting, lovely, clean, comfortable room.Ate at The Bath Arms both evenings as the food and service were so good (short walk along the road).Will definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Mr. Nick Luscombe | Sat 24th Sep 2016


Amazing - Rating 5/5

Lovely hotel, really comfortable bed, best shower we have ever used and best of all the breakfast was superb. The hotel supplied us with a vegan fry up breakfast and it was very filling

Reviewer:Mr. Jason Mahoney | Sat 27th Aug 2016


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Lovely place. Would recomend to anyone.Will stay there again

Reviewer:Mr. peter guiton | Sat 27th Aug 2016


EXCELLENT!!!! - Rating 5/5

Stayed 2 nights lovely clean room large en-suite beautiful breakfast within walking distance of Cheddar gorge will definately stay again

Reviewer:Mrs. Marianne Ingledew | Tue 23rd Aug 2016


Absolutely Brilliant ! - Rating 5/5

Stayed for 3 nights and really enjoyed our stay, the room was lovely and had a nice view of the pool - hosts were extremely welcoming and made you feel at ease and very easy to chat to. Great location for the sights and lovely to be able to come and go as you please, breakfast was delicious and set you up for the busy days \"touristing\". Have already looked at staying again in a few months time ! Only thing (being a lady is not having a mirror to do your hair and makeup at the dressing table) but undoubtedly the best few days break we have had away - thankyou !

Reviewer:Miss. Natasha Ross | Sun 21st Aug 2016


Weekend in Gordon\'s- Rating 5/5

Great host , lovely breakfast .

Reviewer:Mr. james south | Mon 11th Jul 2016


We\'ll be back - Rating 5/5

Lovely place, clean and attractive with really attentive staff. Owner is pleasant, helpful and knowledgable. The breakfast is brilliant with high quality ingredients. No evening meals so check out the Riverside Inn opposite for great food and the White Hart for a traditional pub with great beer.

Reviewer:Mr. Malcolm Watts | Mon 11th Jul 2016


Delighted!! - Rating 5/5

Over the years been reluctant to use B&B\'s (goes back to my childhood), Never again! What a little gem this place is, arrived in Cheddar 4 hours before book in time but thought to ask if I could park in their carpark, not only could I do that but was told my room would be ready and we could book in. Gordon,(the proprietor) came to help with our cases, went on to tell us an outline of the best places to eat and visit. The room was far superior to what I\'d expect ofB&B bathroom including not only very fluffy white towels but a sewing kit, shower cap and notebook and pen ( sorry Gordon, took that as a reminder). They have a small bar should want a nightcap but as the room was well stocked with everything including fruit tea\'s and biscuits the bar not needed for us. Breakfast!! fresh strawberries, fruit, cereals etc:Filter coffee that was offered to you as often as you wanted by their friendly waitress. The breakfast itself, I can only say if I had been blindfolded, I would have thought I\'d cooked it myself, hot, good quality food what more could you ask.I would recommend this hostelry to my best friend with the offer of my paying for it if she didn\'t agree with me. Well done you two, you deserve to go from strength to strength.

Reviewer:Mrs. krystyna Gibson | Sun 26th Jun 2016


VERY IMPRESSED - Rating 5/5

Very efficiently run hotel, with restful, pristine and comfortable accommodation, friendly staff - and the best quality bacon and eggs I\'ve ever had away from home!

Reviewer:Mrs. Lutena Yates | Mon 6th Jun 2016


Great stay with great hosts - Rating 5/5

Had a great stay at Gordon\'s - was in town for a wedding nearby and the hosts couldn\'t do enough to make sure I got checked-in and off to the venue on time.The room was fully stocked as you\'d expect - extra pillows, hairdryer, plenty of towels, kettle/tea/coffee, etc.Breakfast in the morning was great quality, and although I didn\'t dive in, the pool areas was spotless and really welcoming. Will be back with hubby in tow to explore the area!

Reviewer:Mrs. Karyn Darragh | Mon 6th Jun 2016


weekend away - Rating 5/5

Myself and my husband stayed at Gordens for a three day break.We were very happy with our stay.Very good location within walking distance to all the main cheddar attractions.Our room was very comfortable with tea/coffee (topped up daily)hairdryer also is available in your room.Breakfast is;cerals,fresh fruit ,yoghurts and full English (cooked to an high standard) toast and fruit juice.We would defiantley recommend Gordens and we will be staying there again.

Reviewer:Mr. alan taylor | Mon 6th Jun 2016


Stayed for one night for my hubbys birthday - Rating 5/5

Stayed for one night hotel is lovly service os great, location is perfect totaly recomend staying at gordons we plan to stay here again soo

Reviewer:Mrs. Francesca Barrett | Mon 30th May 2016


Callaghan - Rating 5/5

excellent nights stay, nice clean room, quiet all night. best breakfast for a long time.

Reviewer:Mr. Neil Callaghan | Fri 13th May 2016


Gordons stay - Rating 5/5

I wish all,out of the blue\' bookings for hotels were as good as this one. Enjoyable two stay stop over after visiting relative in Bath. Warm welcome by the owners. Given delightful bedroom for the stay. great breakfast great company. Ideal place to stay if visiting Cheddar caves. Good value, even better if more than one night. Would book again, highly recommend to others.

Reviewer:Mr. Kenneth Kemp | Wed 4th May 2016


Another great stay! - Rating 5/5

This was my second time at Gordons and I waswelcomed by the owners like a returning friend! This time I stayed in room 2 which is facing the road but I slept soundly! My room was very tastefully decorated and the bed was beautifully comfortable. Breakfast was as good as ever! Thank you😀😀

Reviewer:Miss. Noreen Fogarty | Mon 2nd May 2016


Overnight stay at Gordons - Rating 4/5

Under new ownership we were lucky enough to stay in one of the newly refurbished rooms, nice neutral decor, comfortable bed and all the facilities you need from a b&b. Breakfast was good quality plenty of choice, attentive owners made sure we had everything we wanted

Reviewer:Mr. KevinAllen| Fri 1st Apr 2016


Easter break - Rating 5/5

Had a lovely stay , rooms spotless , breakfast super, ideal locationand the owner was lovely.Would definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Lynda Hipgrave | Thu 31st Mar 2016


Easter At Gordons - Rating 5/5

Having stayed at Gordon\'s many times in the past, we were pleased that the new owners have made some pleasant changes. The decor has been modernised giving the hotel a fresher look. Breakfast was as lovely as usual. Rooms clean and comfortable. Really enjoyed are stay. Hope to be back soon.

Reviewer:Mrs. Maxine Alexander | Tue 29th Mar 2016


Cheddar - Rating 5/5

Great hosts, good location, nice room, brilliant breakfast. All you need.

Reviewer:Mr. Andrew Ayling | Mon 21st Mar 2016


Friendly Hotel - Rating 5/5

Excellent hotel, ideally placed for visiting the attractions in Cheddar and the surrounding area. Made to feel very welcome. Pleasant clean and comfortable room with free Wi-Fi. Excellent breakfast. Free parking on site.

Reviewer:Mrs. Sheila Gosling | Mon 18th Jan 2016


Well done, Gordons Hotel - Rating 5/5

Stayed one night for the Cheddar Festive Night.The hotel\'s location in the village is good, a short walk to the Gorge and to open countryside.Hotel very comfortable, clean, well run by friendly new owners. Breakfast was excellent, of good quality and served by friendly staff.Thank you.

Reviewer:Mr. Charles Johnston | Thu 10th Dec 2015


Excellent- Rating 5/5

Everything was just right:friendly family reception, quiet room, comfortable bed, lovely room, great breakfast, central position, everything.

Reviewer:Mr. Michael Freke | Mon 30th Nov 2015


Overnight stay to visit Wells City Carnival - Rating 4/5

Excellent accommodation and facilities. Very impressed with the standard of cleanliness.We appreciated the warm welcome and service.One suggestion a hook for a dressing gown an a shelf for toiletries in the shower room would be appreciated.

Reviewer:Mr. Barry Woolcott | Sun 22nd Nov 2015


weekend away - Rating 5/5

fabulous little hotel, lovely room in the annex, staff all very helpful, will be staying here again, super breakfast too!

Reviewer:Mrs. Catherine Riches | Tue 22nd Sep 2015


A Somerset gem. - Rating 5/5

Excellent accommodation in a beautiful part of the country. First class facilities and wonderful staff.Nothing too much trouble and would love to return some time.

Reviewer:Mrs. susan shotton | Thu 27th Aug 2015


Stayed two nights- Rating 5/5

Had a lovely stay every thing was prefect for me lovely breakfast and beds and rooms were tidy and clean and had two good nights sleep I would stay there again thank you very much for my stay

Response

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a lovely review, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and also hope that your parents enjoyed their overnight stay as well.Many Thanks Sue

Reviewer:Miss. Lisa halls | Thu 13th Aug 2015


ANOTHER GREAT STAY - Rating 5/5

As ever, a great stay at Gordons.Best breakfast in Somerset.

Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, Hope you arrived safe and sound back in Ireland. It was really great to see you both so well, here in Cheddar. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Gordon\'s.Sue

Reviewer:Mr. SIMON CARTER | Tue 4th Aug 2015


Thank you and good luck for the future - Rating 5/5

When we arrived we received a warm welcome and had a choice of rooms as the owners were holding a family party on the Saturday night as they were retiring for a well earned rest and the hotel was in the process of being sold. Yes it is as lovely as the pictures portray and on the doorstep of the Gorge with plenty of pubs and restaurants within walking distance. Rooms are clean but would benefit from a bit of decorating modernisation. Breakfast was excellent with a good variety - fresh fruit - juice - cereal to a full English. The pool is heated to a good temperature although we didn\'t get to use it, run out of time. We had a lovely time there and was made to feel very welcome however if the sale is completed it will be up to the new owners to carry on the excellent work set down by the family of this gem in Cheddar.

Response

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a nice and constructive review of Gordon\'s, All the points have been taken on board, but glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us at Gordon\'sMany ThanksSue

Reviewer:Mr. Brett Steels | Wed 1st Jul 2015


Gordons\' Hotel - Rating 4/5

Excellent position in Cheddar.Breakfast was exemplary and the pool is an added bonus.Staff were very helpful Would recommend to anyone

Response

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review, we are really glad thet you enjoyed your stay with us at Gordon\'s.Sue

Reviewer:Mr. Nigel John Pacey | Mon 29th Jun 2015


Just one night in Cheddar.... - Rating 5/5

Arrived in Cheddar after a long day\'s walk from Clifton, Bristol.A warm welcome on arrival and a super room with bath awaited. Very comfortable stay made complete with an excellent breakfast. Highly recommended.

Response

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review, Glad you enjoyed your overnight stay with us and hope the following day, you did not get lost as much as the day you arrived with us.

Reviewer:Mr. Stephen Trubridge | Sat 20th Jun 2015


A little gem - Rating 5/5

Comfortable room, great service, friendly staff, lovely surroundings. Excellent all round.

Response

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review, it is greatly appreciated. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Gordon\'s.Many Many ThanksSue

Reviewer:Mrs. AlisonThomas | Mon 15th Jun 2015


Lovely break - Rating 5/5

Our 2nd stay here and once again we had a wonderful time. Lovely place, very friendly, nothing is to much trouble. Sue the owner is a smashing lady. Would recommend Gordons for a lovely relaxing and comfortable place to stay for anyone. GREAT PLACE

Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review, glad you enjoyed your 4 night stay with us, It was lovely to meet your family, along with your granddaughter, We hope you enjoyed your day out at Brean, and had a good journey home.Many ThanksSue xx

Reviewer:Mrs. Lisa Archer | Sun 14th Jun 2015


best suggestion for Gordons Cliff Street- Rating 5/5

Sehr freundliche Leute, schönes sauberes Zimmer, gutes Frühstück, gute Lage - alles ok.

Response

Good Afternoon. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, for us at Gordon\'s it is much appreciated. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in the UK.Many ThanksSue

Reviewer:Mr. MarkusPieren | Fri 12th Jun 2015


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely and friendly hotel. Made us feel very welcome and would recommend anyone to stay in this lovely hotel. Perfect for the short break

Response

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review, We are really glad that you enjoyed your break with us at Gordon\'s.

Reviewer:Mr. DavidSelby| Tue 26th May 2015


Great place to stay - Rating 5/5

Perfect place for our two night stay!Nice friendly staff and very clean!Breakfast was freshly cooked to order and very tasty!Ideally situated for all sorts of activities in the area. Many thanks for a great stay and will be back!

Response

Good Afternoon. Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for us. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Gordon\'s, and enjoyed your breakfast. We look forward to seeing you again soon.Sue

Reviewer:Mrs. Wendy Forton | Wed 6th May 2015


Great atmosphere. - Rating 5/5

Thank you so much for lovely weekend.very comfortable fell like our own home.

Response

Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us at Gordon\'s, very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Look forward to seeing you again soon. Sue

Reviewer:Mrs. kadriye leese | Mon 20th Apr 2015


A pleasure every time.- Rating 5/5

We stumbled on Gordons last summer while driving through the Gorge and decided to stay the night. The owner is a lovely welcoming lady and when we arrived at our room in the annex it was beautiful, clean and airy.Breakfast is very good at Gordons and the breakfast staff are also warm and friendly. Our second time at Gordons was just as lovely as the first and we have told all our friends about it!!

Response

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for us here at Gordon\'s, we are really glad that you enjoyed your stay. And enjoyed your breakfast. Thank you again. Sue

Reviewer:Miss. Lauren Starkey | Sun 12th Apr 2015


Lovely Stay - Rating 5/5

Friendly staff, comfortable bed, a lovely breakfast and in a beautiful village. What more could you ask for?

Response

Hi Olly,Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for us at Gordon\'s it is greatly appreciated, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with your wife.We look forward to hearing from you again soon.

Reviewer:Mr. Olly Risdon | Sun 29th Mar 2015


Very good- Rating 5/5

Comfortable one night stay - room was immaculate, breakfast good and free wifi was a bonus.

Response

Good Afternoon.Thank you for taking the time to review Gordon\'s, Glad you enjoyed your overnight stop, and hope the trip in May goes well. Sue Barker.

Reviewer:Mrs. Lesley Worrall | Fri 27th Mar 2015


Enjoyed our stay - Rating 4/5

Very nice hotel. Very clean and nicely decorated. Friendly and helpful staff. We would recommend.

Response

Thank you very much for spending the time to write such a nice review, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Gordon\'s.

Reviewer:Mr. Patrick Urben | Sat 14th Feb 2015


21st! - Rating 4/5

Lovely place! Couldn\'t ask for any more!Really want to come back again !

Reviewer:Miss. Jemma Mills | Thu 25th Dec 2014


Recommended - Rating 5/5

Good breakfast, comfortable accommodation, and friendly staff.

Reviewer:Mr. Matthew Bicket | Tue 25th Nov 2014


Ideal Location - Rating 4/5

We stayed here for one night last weekend... the hotel is ideally situated for the Gorge and Craft Village... The room was comfortable and spacious... Breakfast superb !!

Reviewer:Mr. Ian Thurston | Fri 10th Oct 2014


Lovely stay - Rating 4/5

Cosy place, great location and lovely staff. The only down side was the annoyance of our shower - it kept fluctuating from either boiling hot or freezing cold! Apart from that would defintely recommend :) me and my partner thouroughly enjoyed our stay

Reviewer:Miss. Georgi Baker | Fri 3rd Oct 2014


Pleasant hotel - Rating 4/5

Pleasant hotel, though our bed was a VERY small double with a very uncomfortable lump down the middle, and in need of replacing urgently. Breakfast plentiful and tasty. Clean and friendly.

Reviewer:Mr. Peter Mallows | Sat 27th Sep 2014


cheddar - Rating 3/5

Very tasty breakfast. Friendly staff.Sleep disturbed by noisy plumbing from other rooms - starting about 6.45 in the morning.

Reviewer:Mrs. Caroline Marshall | Mon 22nd Sep 2014


Nothing more needed - Rating 5/5

Clean, friendly, warm welcome and a lovely full English breakfast. What more does anyone want

Reviewer:Mr. Ian Hunt | Fri 29th Aug 2014


Great Location - Rating 5/5

Perfect stay. Breakfasts were wonderful.

Reviewer:Mrs. Christine Frost | Mon 25th Aug 2014


1stclass B&B - Rating 5/5

We found the rooms at Gordons very clean &spacious, with an excellent breakfast.It was very convenient for sightseeing but also close to the village.It was nice to have use of the pool

Reviewer:Mrs. Ann Slater | Fri 22nd Aug 2014


Would recommend! - Rating 4/5

Really lovely, cosy and spotlessly clean.Great breakfast, would certainly stay again.

Reviewer:Mr. Iain Mccrea | Thu 21st Aug 2014


3 day stay - Rating 5/5

fantastic stay as always .staff are brilliant and very helpful will always stay at gordons when we visit cheddar. food is always good plenty of it and you can order just what you want .the heated pool is great .keepthe good work up cannot fault this b&b love it

Reviewer:Mr. Price Price | Mon 18th Aug 2014


Very good - Rating 4/5

Lovely clean and comfortable B&B. Breakfast was spot on and very well cooked and presented. Would recommend Gordon's to anyone having stayed there twice in a month. Lovely pool too!

Reviewer:Mrs. Wendy White | Sun 3rd Aug 2014


Lovely - Rating 4/5

The hotel was lovely - clean, friendly staff and perfect for a short stay at Cheddar Gorge. It was really good value for money and the breakfast was really yummy. Only down side was the room was really hot and even though a fan was supplied, it didn't make too much difference. Maybe investing in some ac in the rooms would benefit for the summer months.

Reviewer:Miss. Liza Brooks | Sun 27th Jul 2014


two night stay - Rating 4/5

we love our two night stay at gordons, the only down side was the room was very hot, maybe a fan in room 8 would be good

Reviewer:Mrs. Linda Bruce | Wed 23rd Jul 2014


Superb Break - Rating 5/5

Just returned from a short break at Gordons Hotel in Cheddar. We had an excellent holiday here a couple of years ago, and this visit did not disappoint. Excellent comfortable room and 1st class service from all the staff especially the owner Sue, whose breakfasts are outstanding. The hotel is perfectly situated for visiting the Cheddar Gorge and surrounding area. We will definitely be back..

Reviewer:Mr. Kevin Flaherty | Mon 21st Jul 2014


Comfortable B&B - Rating 5/5

Comfortable room, good breakfast, warm welcome. The hotel is very convenient for Cheddar Gorge. There are plenty of places to eat lunch and dinner,so the lack of meals other than breakfast is not a problem. We would definitely go again

Response

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Gordon's.Thank youSue

Reviewer:Mr. William Berry | Sat 12th Jul 2014


Thank you for making us feel so welcome and well looked after. - Rating 5/5

We would recommend anyone visiting Cheddar to consider staying at Gordons hotel.We had a room in the annex which was bright and airy,added bonus of a swimming pool just at the bottom of the stairs.We had a very warm welcome,breakfast was lovely,staff could not have been more friendly and helpful,we would deffinately stay here again.

Response

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Gordon's.Thank you. Sue

Reviewer:Mr. Jeffrey Smith | Sun 6th Jul 2014


Fantastic - Rating 5/5

Excellant two day stay,lovely people My room was spotless and a great breakfast.Will be staying again next time I'm down there Dave Jones

Response

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review, We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us in Cheddar.Thank you Sue

Reviewer:Mr. David Jones | Sat 5th Jul 2014


Gordons - Rating 4/5

We had a lovely stay at Gordon's. The staff were very helpful and friendly . The breakfasts were great and the swimming pool a welcome relief after a long day of walking . We stayed for 3 nights and found the hotel very good value for money .

Response

thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us in Cheddar.Thank you Sue

Reviewer:Mrs. Amanda Saxon | Thu 3rd Jul 2014


Thank You - Rating 5/5

Second time we stayed, and will come again. Thank you.

Response

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a nice review. We are glad you enjoyed your overnight stay with us at Gordons.Thank you Sue.

Reviewer:Mr. Pat Mahoney | Wed 2nd Jul 2014


BIG Thanks! From Reaction Group - Rating 5/5

I booked accommodation for one of our Engineers and I have heard nothing but praise! He very much enjoyed his stay with you, very friendly and comfortable were his words! Thank you so very much, we will certainly hope to use you again in the near future! Excellent!

Response

Thank you so much for writing such a lovely review, We are really glad that your engineer enjoyed his working stay with us at Gordon's. We look forward to working with the Reaction Group again in not the toooo distant future.Many ThanksSue.

Reviewer:Mrs. Jackie Pearson | Thu 26th Jun 2014


Excellent B&B - Rating 5/5

Friendly and comfortable place. Excellent breakfast and lovely pool too! Will definitely be back, thank you for a lovely relaxing weekend.

Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a lovely review for us, We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Gordon'sMany ThanksSue

Reviewer:Mr. Steve Beer | Mon 23rd Jun 2014


Enjoyable stay - Rating 5/5

Warm welcome, clean and comfortable room, good breakfast the following morning.Will return!

Response

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review, glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Gordon'sThank you Sue

Reviewer:Mr. Nick Jeffery | Mon 16th Jun 2014


short trip to Cheddar - Rating 5/5

Lovely hotel all very clean with really polite and friendly staff. Lovely breakfast.

Response

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at gordon's.Thank you Sue

Reviewer:Mr. Andrew North | Mon 9th Jun 2014


Good - Rating 4/5

Friendly, relaxed staff;very good breakfast;clean rooms. (Rooms in annexe where friends stayed are bigger than in the main building and appear newly furnished.) There's a small swimming pool which we didn't use. Everything in Cheddar is within easy walking distance.

Response

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, We are slowly refurbishing all rooms here at Gordon's and are well on our way, but all your comments are noted. Glad you enjoyed your stay here with us in CheddarThank youSue

Reviewer:Mr. Mark Arnold | Mon 9th Jun 2014


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Lovely friendly b &b right in the heart of cheddar, very clean lovely breakfast could not fault anything have already booked a return visit

Response

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review, Glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Gordon's and we look forward to seeing you both again in July.Sue

Reviewer:Mrs. Lynn Bowater | Wed 28th May 2014


Lovely place to stay. - Rating 5/5

Stayed here for one night. Very clean, welcoming and some nice extra touches (biscuit with the tea facilities, shower gel supplied etc). Only slight grumble (and it really is slight) is the menu for cooked breakfast said "vegetarian option"which actually turned out to be the meat option without the meat. I would have expected vegetarian sausage or bacon as that is what was being suggested. The breakfast was delicious though and plenty of it.Would definitely recommend Gordons.

Response

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for us,And glad that you enjoyed your overnight stay with us. I have now taken on board your comment on the vegetarian options, and now have veggie sausages.Thank you Sue Barker.

Reviewer:Mrs. Cynthia Wilson | Wed 7th May 2014


Great B&B - Rating 5/5

Located right on the center of Cheddar village, Good beds, powerful showers, very clean/tidy, excellent fullbreakfast.

Response

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us.Hope all went well with the Bike race, here in Cheddar.

Reviewer:Mr. Richard Kingsley-smith | Tue 6th May 2014


Relaxed time - Rating 4/5

Very friendly atmosphere, clean and the food was very good. Also parking off the road gives you peace of mind so you can relax. Thank you for a good time. (3 nights)

Response

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you had a nice, relaxing time with us at Gordon's.

Reviewer:Mr. Malcolm Board | Fri 25th Apr 2014


very good - Rating 4/5

Excellent room, good breakfast, and really friendly staff.

Response

Thank you for the time to write a review, I am glad you both enjoyed your weekend away to celebrate your wedding anniversary, with us at Gordon's.

Reviewer:Mr. Alex Delbridge | Mon 14th Apr 2014


Review of Gordons, Cheddar - Rating 5/5

Lovely friendly staff, great breakfast and a pleasant room. Thank you.

Response

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review.Glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Gordon's.

Reviewer:Mrs. Petra Harwin | Sun 30th Mar 2014


friendly hotel - Rating 4/5

very welcoming and friendly place to stay, nice comfy beds and great breakfast.parking on site is not massive but ok

Reviewer:Mr. Iain White | Fri 28th Mar 2014


Gordon's hotel cheddar - Rating 5/5

Enjoyed our stay very comfortable, the staff were very helpful and food and service excellent would definitely stay there again

Response

Thank you very much for taking the time, to send us a lovely review.Glad that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Gordon's.

Reviewer:Mr. John Dent | Mon 24th Mar 2014


Gordon's - Rating 4/5

We stayed at Gordon's for two nights. The hotel itself was really lovely, situated right down the road from Cheddar Gorge (a 5 minute walk!) We were offered a choice of rooms either with a shower or a bath, and we opted for the room with a bath! It was lovely and clean, and was cleaned the next day whilst we were out too. All of the staff were really friendly and helpful, and breakfast was alright, good variety (although it was a bit early for us!). We will definitely be staying here again. Thank you very much!!

Response

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for us, it is greatly appreciated, and I am very glad that you both enjoyed your stay with us at Gordon'sMany ThanksSue Barker

Reviewer:Mr. Samuel Clarke | Tue 4th Mar 2014


Lovely stay - as always! - Rating 5/5

We stay here every year as we love Cheddar and this hotel is ideally located within 5 minutes walking distance of the village and gorge. Always a warm welcome, comfortable rooms and generous breakfast. This also makes a good base from which to explore the surrounding area!

Response

Hi Katy, Thank you for that lovely review, It was lovely to see you and Ryan, and catch up on all your exciting news especially your new arrival. look forward to seeing you both again soon.

Reviewer:Mrs. Katy Davies | Mon 17th Feb 2014


We enjoyed our stay - Rating 4/5

Really nice hotel, warm and cosy, lovely room, good breakfast. Walking distance to pubs, restaurants and Cheddar gorge attractions. Would stay there again.

Response

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Gordon's, and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Reviewer:Dr. Wendy Powell | Wed 12th Feb 2014


Loved it - Rating 4/5

Such a nice place to stay. Cosy and Lovely.

Response

Thank you so much for your lovely review, glad you enjoyed your stay with us in Cheddar. Sue

Reviewer:Mrs. Fiona Shedden | Sat 11th Jan 2014


Three Night Stay - Rating 5/5

This Hotel is one of the best I have ever stayed in. The room was very comfortable and clean. Breakfast was excellent and location good for village facilities.

Reviewer:Mr. Philip Mitchell | Wed 27th Nov 2013


Excellent Hotel - Rating 5/5

We stayed at "Gordons"whist attending a family celebration. The Hotel is extremely comfortable and the lady owner is very friendly and welcoming. The rooms are lovely and clean, nicely decorated with comfortable beds. Breakfast was delicious. Would definately stay again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Karen Simpson | Tue 22nd Oct 2013


Bath or shower? - Rating 4/5

Great location to explore Cheddar Caves and Gorge. Friendly staff and a very warm welcome. Room clean and tidy but we prefer rooms that include an en-suite shower and not just a bath.Looking at other reviews, it appears that some rooms have showers but that was not offered to us. Apart from that little gripe, everything else was fine and the breakfast was excellent.There are plenty of good pubs and restaurants nearby providing excellent evening meals.

Reviewer:Mr. Ron Stone | Mon 16th Sep 2013


weekend break - Rating 5/5

lovely , clean , welcomimg , friendly , pool was a bonus , lovely food , couldn't fault it , would definitely stay again and would recommend it to anyone .

Response

Thank you very much for your review, Sue

Reviewer:Mrs. Carol Crabb | Tue 3rd Sep 2013


Most excellent - Rating 5/5

Lovely stay, great location, very friendly staff, nice clean room.

Response

Thank you for your review, Sue

Reviewer:Mr. Shirley Banks | Sun 1st Sep 2013


A great place to stay in- Rating 5/5

Comfortable hotel in attractive setting. Excellent service and breakfast. Well worth a repeat visit.

Reviewer:Mr. Michael Barringer | Fri 30th Aug 2013


Gordons - Rating 5/5

2nd visit to the Gordons.Everything fantastic - room, location, breakfast, staff. Couldn't wish for anything better!

Reviewer:Mrs. Yvonne Richards | Wed 28th Aug 2013


Lovely hotel in Cheddar - Rating 4/5

I was only there for one night with a hiking group who were scattered around Cheddar. I chose Gordons because of the locality to the Cheddar Gorge and its selection of pubs nearby. The hotel itself was very nice. I stayed in Room 2, which was a good size with a double bed and en-suite bathroom with a shower. I had a room overlooking the main road, but with very little traffic there was little noise that bothered me during the night. Everything was clean and tidy;however, there was a long black hair on the sheet, which wasn't mine as mine is short and brown. Apart from that the only issue I had was with the toilet. Every time it was flushed it set off a loud noise (I can only assume within the tank) which went on for some time only to stop and then start again. During the night someone must have flushed in another room and this came through to my room, which subsequently woke me up early morning.Breakfast was lovely with a selection available from the buffet table that you could help yourself to. On offer was tea/coffee/juices/cereals/fruit and yoghurt. It was also possible to order a cooked English breakfast or (as I did) a Vegetarian breakfast, which consisted of eggs, mushrooms, tomatoes and beans.Overall, my stay, albeit for one night, was very pleasant and I would recommend Gordons as a place to stay while visiting Cheddar. I haven't given a full five stars because of the toilet/tank issue, but other than that I couldn't fault Gordons or its hosts.P.S. There is also a pool available for guests, which I believe is open from May-September and unfortunately I didn't have the opportunity to try it out...maybe next time!

Reviewer:Miss. Rebecca Campbell | Mon 19th Aug 2013


Tarryn - Rating 4/5

Wonderful stay yet again.Clean, Friendly, and conveniently located.Breakfast was fresh and very tasty.Thank you for a super stay again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Tarryn Bodeker | Wed 14th Aug 2013


Cheddar Gorge - Rating 4/5

Only stayed one night but lon]vely weOnly stayed one night but lovely welcome, lovely sleep, lovely breakfast, all in all a good stay.

Reviewer:Mr. Frederick Sweeting | Sat 10th Aug 2013


Gordons Cheddar- Rating 5/5

Great accommodation, very friendly and wonderful breakfast.Will definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Mr. Steven Wright | Mon 29th Jul 2013


First Rate - Rating 5/5

We recently stayed at Gordons Hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Levels of service, cleanliness and friendliness are 1st Rate! PS Brilliant Breakfast. Will visit again as soon as possible.

Reviewer:Mrs. Maxine Alexander | Fri 21st Jun 2013


Best Hotel In the area - Rating 5/5

Great HotelLovely Staff smashing breakfast and excellent spacious rooms and bathroom Highly recommend

Response

I am so glad that you both enjoyed your weekend stay with us, and it lived up to your expectations.

Reviewer:Mr. MichaelHolliday | Tue 11th Jun 2013


Loved it. - Rating 4/5

We had a great stay the welcome was warm the room was great. Cheddar was a hoot and breakfast was just what the doctor ordered. If we are back in Cheddar any time I cant see us staying anywhere else.

Response

Thank you very much for the review it is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Reviewer:Mr. Matthew Mcevoy | Sat 9th Feb 2013


Book Online

Our Facilities

  • Credit Card
  • Parking Facilities
  • Family Rooms
  • Wifi
  • Swimming Pool Outdoor
  • Vegetarian